The Minimum Wage tables for domestic workers are currently on hold for 2020.

The National Minimum Wage Commission was set up in 2018 to oversee the national minimum wage recognizing all workers as equal under the law. It is currently reviewing the National Minimum Wage.

Stakeholders in government, labour and business, represented in the National Economic Development and Labour Council (Nedlac), first signed the national minimum wage agreement in February 2017. The bill was approved by Cabinet later in 2017, and President Cyril Ramaphosa signed it into law in 2018.

Currently, farm workers are entitled to R18.00 an hour, domestic workers to R15.00 an hour and Expanded Public Works Programme workers to R11.00 an hour. All other workers are entitled to R20.00 an hour.

In the latter part of January 2020, organized labour at the National Economic Development and Labour Council (Nedlac) has accused the National Minimum Wage (NMW) Commission of failing workers after only 5% was proposed as an increment. In essence, they have slammed the proposed increase to the National Minimum Wage Commission’s recommendation to the Minister of Employment and Labour, Thulasi Nxesi.

There will be a further debate amongst the stakeholders to reach a resolution, in the coming weeks.

For further information you can contact Bernard Reisner:
W. Tel: 021 423 3959
Fax: 021 423 2105
Cell: 082 433 3959